In “Breaking the Silence” viewers become privy to personal stories and Amish cultural history through six unique episodes of approximately 42 minutes each. Together they weave a narrative that brings them into the normally closed and private world of the Amish.

EPISODE ONE: The Secret Strength of the Amish Church
Presents a rare inside view of an Amish church service and the inner workings of the Amish culture.

EPISODE TWO: Silencing the Grabers
The story of Lester Graber, an Amish minister who began to read and study the Bible.

EPISODE THREE: An Amish Romance
The story of three people who left the Amish, Joe from Ohio, Sam from Indiana, and Polly from Missouri.

EPISODE FOUR: Birth of the Amish Church
Where did the Amish come from and how does their story fit into the Reformation Era?

EPISODE FIVE: Amish In Our Midst
Frequently asked questions about the Amish addressing some little known facts about the Amish Church and culture.

EPISODE SIX: Our Amish Heritage – Silent No More
Many people who have come out of the Amish struggle with reconciling their past to their new lives on the outside. If their heritage rejects them, is it still their heritage?

2018 / 240 minutes / color /


Public Performance and Digital Site Licenses are available through Soundview Media Partners. To inquire or to place an order, write to or simply choose from the options below:

License Options

For group screening prices, please inquire.

In-home/personal use copies are available on Amazon:

Watch the Trailer